Ends on February 15, 2018

$10.00 USD

Epiphany presents the first annual Breakout Eight Writers Prize sponsored by the Authors Guild
Judged by Alexander Chee, Hannah Tinti, and Tracy O’Neill

Purpose: To honor and support outstanding emerging literary voices amongst student writers, bringing visibility to the writers of our future.

Prize: Eight writers will receive publication in Epiphany's Breakout Eight special issue; a $250 cash prize; a year-long mentorship with Epiphany editor-in-chief, 2015 National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree, and 2012 Center for Fiction fellow Tracy O'Neill; a complimentary one-year student membership to the Authors Guild, including free access to seminars, webinars, and the writers’ resource library; a featured interview published on the Epiphany website, in the Authors Guild Bulletin, and on the Authors Guild website; a one-year subscription to Epiphany; and a short manuscript review.

Eligibility: Candidates must be enrolled in an accredited university at least part-time for the academic year Fall 2017­–Spring 2018. The prize is open to both graduate and undergraduate students. Students need not be enrolled in MFA programs or creative writing programs.

Submission: Applications will be submitted by individual writers. They must include a creative work and a “Statement of Interest” including the creative manuscript title, the author's enrollment status and university, and an email address and telephone number for the department head of the student’s program of study. Manuscripts may be a single work of short fiction, novel excerpt, or work of creative nonfiction of no more than thirty double-spaced pages, or up to five poems. The author’s name should not appear on the creative manuscript. All entries must be submitted via Submittable. The entry fee of $10 can be paid via Submittable to subsidize administrative costs associated with the application review.

Judging: Honorees will be selected blind on the basis of the work’s creative merit by a judging panel made up of Alexander Chee, Hannah Tinti, and Tracy O’Neill.

Deadline: Entries must be received by February 15.


Epiphany is a nonprofit literary journal published in print twice per year. We are interested in risk-taking work, and though we've published well-established writers like Elena Ferrante and Patricia Smith, we are especially open to writers whose explorations of new territory may not yet have found validation elsewhere. In the first year of the PEN/Robert J. Dau Prize for Debut Fiction, a story from the magazine, "A Message" by Ruth Serven, was awarded the honor. Our contributors have included winners of the Pulitzer Prize, the Man Booker Prize, and the National Book Award.

The Authors Guild has been the nation’s most trusted resource for working writers since 1912, advocating on behalf of all authors, and offering guidance, advice, and community in the form of professional support, education about the legal and business sides of writing, and networking opportunities. As the largest and oldest community of professional writers, the Guild is committed to providing lifelong support to authors of all stripes as they move through multiple stages of their careers. Whether it’s securing an agent, landing a first book contract, negotiating royalties, or reclaiming rights, the Guild stands by its members, helping to ensure a sustainable future for every author. The Authors Guild has spent over 100 years advocating for the rights of authors, protecting copyright, defending free speech, and ensuring fair pay. Its advocacy work is on the front lines of the fight to guarantee writers can continue to have the creative freedom that comes with the ability to earn a living wage, and can continue to produce the diversity of books that free expression makes possible.


Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.